Department of Southeast Asian  Studies

The Department of Southeast Asian Studies offers courses in five languages and cultures—Thai, Burmese, Vietnamese, Indonesian and Filipino. Three research institutes are affiliated with the department, specializing in regional studies in Southeast Asia, Thailand and Indonesia-Malaysia. The department enjoys a good academic reputation in and outside China, owing in part to the numerous high-quality scholarly works, translations, textbooks and dictionaries published by its faculty over the past decades. 

The department provides instruction designed to develop competence in Southeast Asian languages, awareness of their cultural traditions, and an understanding of various aspects of their societies, such as economy and politics. The language skills and knowledge in both Chinese and Southeast Asian cultures received by majors in these areas of study prepare them for successful careers in government service, cultural exchange, business, teaching, and scholarly research.